Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Assessment

Measuring success in District 196

The District 196 Student Testing and Assessment Center is responsible for all district wide achievement testing. The assessment center staff work on implementation of state graduation standards; administer district, state and national tests; collect other information to support revision and development of curricular and instructional programs; and report data to the School Board, the Curriculum and Instruction Advisory Council (CIAC), and the public.

Our mission is to collect meaningful information, report it in a timely way, and communicate the results in a clear and helpful style. The District 196 Assessment Plan articulates a balanced system of assessment that:

  • Aligns with Minnesota and district standards
  • Supports our district mission
  • Provides assessment information that is compatible with information from previous grades
  • Provides data to be used by Professional Learning Communities for strengthening instructional approaches
  • Utilizes an array of assessment methods which provide multiple opportunities for students to demonstrate understanding and knowledge

Assessments are an integral part of instruction, as it determines whether or not the goals of education are being met. Assessment affects decisions about grades, placement, advancement, instructional needs, curriculum, and, in some cases, funding. Assessments inspire us to ask these hard questions: "Are we teaching what we think we are teaching?" "Are students learning what they are supposed to be learning?" "Is there a way to teach the subject better, thereby promoting better learning?" 

Learn more about District 196 assessments > 

Testing Calendar

January 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Dec 27
Mon, Dec 28
Tue, Dec 29
Wed, Dec 30
Thu, Dec 31
Fri, Jan 1
Sat, Jan 2
Sun, Jan 3
Mon, Jan 4
Tue, Jan 5
Wed, Jan 6
Thu, Jan 7
Fri, Jan 8
Sat, Jan 9
Sun, Jan 10
Mon, Jan 11
Tue, Jan 12
Wed, Jan 13
Thu, Jan 14
Fri, Jan 15
Sat, Jan 16
Sun, Jan 17
Mon, Jan 18
Tue, Jan 19
Wed, Jan 20
Thu, Jan 21
Fri, Jan 22
Sat, Jan 23
Sun, Jan 24
Mon, Jan 25
Tue, Jan 26
Wed, Jan 27
Thu, Jan 28
Fri, Jan 29
Sat, Jan 30
Sun, Jan 31
Mon, Feb 1
Tue, Feb 2
Wed, Feb 3
Thu, Feb 4
Fri, Feb 5
Sat, Feb 6

*subject to change

There are no events to display